five pieces for brass trio

Composed October, 2010 - October, 2011

Duration: 20'
Instrumentation: Tpt. Hn. Tbn.


I. Prelude - Luke 12:49-52

'I have come to bring fire to the earth, and how I wish it were blazing already! There is a baptism I must still receive, and what constraint I am under until it is completed! Do you suppose that I am here to bring peace on earth? No, I tell you, but rather division. For from now on, a household of five will be divided: three against two and two against three.'

II. Nocturne - Luke 22:41-44

Then he withdrew from them, about a stone's throw away, and knelt down and prayed. 'Father,' he said, 'if you are willing, take this cup away from me. Nevertheless, let your will be done, not mine.' Then an angel appeared to him, coming from heaven to give him strength. In his anguish he prayed even more earnestly, and his sweat fell to the ground like great drops of blood.

 III. Dirge - Mark 10:32-34

Once more taking the Twelve aside he began to tell them what was going to happen to him, 'Now we are going up to Jerusalem, and the Son of man is about to be handed over to the chief priests and the scribes.  They will condemn him to death and will hand him over to the gentiles, who will mock him and spit at him and scourge him and put him to death.'

 IV. Carillon – 1 Corinthians 15:40, 42-44

There are heavenly bodies and earthly bodies: the heavenly have a splendor of their own, and the earthly a different splendor… It is the same too with the resurrection of the dead: what is sown is perishable, but what is raised is imperishable; what is sown is contemptible, but what is raised is glorious; what is sown is weak, but what is raised is powerful; what is sown is a natural body, and what is raised is a spiritual body.

 V. Ritornello - Acts 1:11

This Jesus who has been taken up from you into heaven will come back in the same way as you have seen him go to heaven.

Commissioned by the Wenham Street Brass

November 18, 2011. Wenham Street Brass; Saint Cecilia Catholic Church, Boston, MA.

Program Note
Five Pieces for Brass Trio is a reflection on the Passion of Jesus Christ as a means of recounting my conversion to the Catholic Church.